Watch Out for These Hidden Gluten Sources

If you’re aiming to eat gluten-free products, you’ll want to know about hidden sources of gluten and surprising foods that contain gluten. Take a look at this hidden gluten list today.

If you’re following a gluten free, wheat free, or wheat intolerance diet, you likely want to know more about hidden sources of gluten in potential gluten- and wheat-free foods. Let’s talk all about gluten-free labeling and what are really, truly gluten-free foods.

Read on to learn more about hidden gluten in beloved wheat-free products and wheat-free recipes. You may be surprised at the tweaks you’ll need to make to your no-wheat diet, your gluten-free shopping list, and your gluten-free diet recipes.

If you had only a minute, I bet you could name at least a handful of people you know who are gluten-free eaters. Even though only 1% of the population has celiac disease, a genetic autoimmune disorder triggered by consuming gluten, more and more people are taking up gluten-free diets in hopes of improving their health.

But can ridding your diet of the protein–yes, gluten’s a protein!–actually help you meet your health goals? I investigate that exact question in this blog post.

I’m separating fact from fiction when it comes to widespread ideas about gluten. And most importantly, I’m busting the myth that gluten is inherently bad for you.

And for people who are truly allergic or intolerant to gluten, I’m sharing nine foods that appear to be gluten free but in actuality can contain hidden gluten. Plus, you’re getting a recipe for the most delicious gluten-free mocktail that’s sure to satisfy everyone at the table. Ready to get started?

top down view of a bowl of cereal

Hidden Gluten Sources to Know About

When you think about gluten-containing foods, I bet breads, pastas, and pastries immediately pop into your mind. But if you’re a gluten-free eater or are preparing a meal for someone who is, it’s important to know those aren’t the only foods worth avoiding.

In fact, there are quite a few foods you would never guess contain gluten, which I reveal in my Food Network article.

Here are additional foods that have gluten-containing ingredients:

  • soy sauce
  • French fries (if cross contamination happens in a fryer)
  • wheat starch
  • malt vinegar
  • oats (if not labeled gluten free)
  • farro
  • barley

And here are foods that are definitely gluten free:

The bottom line: Make sure to read ingredient lists to see if foods are in fact naturally gluten free and work for a gluten-intolerant diet.

three loaves of bread

Facts About Gluten-Free Products

Over the past few years, gluten has come to be enemy No. 1 among many healthy eaters. But does it really deserve that title?

To help set the record straight, I share the true scoop on gluten and bust a few myths about the protein in my Everyday Health article. Do you really need to be opting for gluten-free baked goods? Spoiler: There *are* health benefits to eating gluten!

glass full of cocktail with sprig of rosemary

Amy’s Gluten-Free Recipe to Try

Make this recipe: Virgin Prune Juice Pineapple Sangria!


Next time you throw a party, don’t break out a case of beer and call it a day—make sure you have a satisfying drink on hand for your gluten-free attendees, too.

The perfect beverage? This prune juice mocktail, which is low in added sugar and high in fiber. Don’t forget to garnish with orange slices and rosemary sprigs for a drink that belongs on Instagram.

This blog post was updated in August 2020.

When it comes to gluten free foods and gluten free recipes for a gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, you may be surprised at gluten sources. Use this for your gluten free shopping list. #glutenfree #gluten #celiac #celiacdisease #wheatfree #grainfree

Sources

Find this post helpful? At no additional cost to you, support the maintenance of running this site by using my Amazon affiliate links to shop. Thank you!

I’d love to hear from you!! What would you add to this gluten-free products list of foods to watch out for on a grain intolerance diet? What have you learned about reading foods labels for gluten-free ingredients?

Besides wheat flour, what other foods do you avoid so you don’t do any damage to your small intestine?

Add your thoughts to the comments below, or tag @amydgorin on Instagram and Pinterest and @amygorin on Twitter and Facebook. 

Don’t forget to sign up for my weekly newsletter to get updates delivered straight to your inbox! Also download my free plant-based grocery list and meal plan.

Want to go shopping with a dietitian? Here’s your chance! I just opened up my very own storefront, full of my fave tip sheets, cookbooks, kitchen products, and more! 

Also check out my Etsy shop! Use code 10PERCENT for 10% off!

Plant-Based Eating |

Find this post helpful? At no additional cost to you, you can support the maintenance of running this site by using my Amazon affiliate links to shop. Thank you so much.

And don’t forget to sign up for my newsletter to get updates delivered straight to your inbox! Also, download my free 3-day vegan meal plan.

Want to go shopping with a dietitian? Here’s your chance! I just opened up my very own storefront,  full of plant-based meal plans, grocery lists, recipe books, and more!

0 Comments
Join The Conversation

You Might Also Like


Comments Background Texture

Share Your Thoughts

Your email address will not be published.