Taco Bell Best Vegan Options You’ll Love

Looking for vegan options at Taco Bell? Discover some of the best plant-based choices like the “fresco style” Bean Burrito or the Veggie Power Bowl.

side view of Taco Bell restaurant

If you are craving Mexican-inspired fast food, you’re in luck at Taco Bell. The vegan options at Taco Bell are pretty impressive.

Taco Bell is definitely a vegan-friendly fast-food chain. It offers a number of items on its menu that are certified vegan. The restaurant also has an option to order items “fresco style,” which replaces mayo-based sauces, cheeses, and sour cream with diced tomatoes.

This option is meant to help people make healthier choices by reducing calories and fat, but it’s also an easy way to make some of the vegetarian items completely plant based.

Note: this option does not eliminate meat. If you are ordering something with beef, for example, you will need to specifically ask for no meat.

If you’re ordering from Taco Bell’s website or app, the restaurant makes it easy to add or remove items to your order so it is completely customized to your liking.

Like many other restaurants, Taco Bell states that it may use the same frying oil to prepare menu items that could contain meat. Vegetarian and meat ingredients are handled in common areas, and cross-contact can occur.

What can vegans eat at Taco Bell?

Vegans will not leave Taco Bell hungry. From breakfast to lunch or dinner, here are your best vegan options at Taco Bell:

Breakfast vegan options at Taco Bell

If you happen to be at a Taco Bell in the morning, the vegan options are limited: You have one choice.

Hashbrowns and Breakfast Salsa

But you will be able to get hash browns and a coffee to hold you over for a bit. The fast food chain also has a breakfast salsa you can use as a hash brown topping.

side view of hashbrown patties in a skillet

Hashbrown ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola, corn, cottonseed, soybean, and/or sunflower oil), salt, dextrose. Prepared in canola oil. [certified vegan]

Breakfast salsa ingredients: Tomato Puree (tomato paste, water), vinegar, garlic and onion powder, modified food starch, jalapeno peppers, salt, chili pepper, yeast extract, sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate (P), potassium chloride, spices, lactic acid, wheat, soybeans, sugar, natural flavor. Contains: wheat, soy [certified vegan]

Lunch and dinner options

While fast-food chains are not typically known for healthy options, Taco Bell has some vegan choices that pack some decent nutrition, especially when it comes to fiber.

However, like many fast-food chains, the sodium content of many items is high. Here are your vegan-friendly lunch and dinner options.

close up of three vegan black bean tacos from Taco Bell

Bean Taco (crunchy or soft shell)

Ask for a taco without the meat and “fresco style” for a vegan option. Taco Bell offers refried beans or black beans that can be substituted for meat. One black bean taco on a soft tortilla has 140 calories, 5 grams of protein, and 4 grams of fiber.

Ingredients: Flour tortilla: Bleached enriched wheat flour, malted barley flour, water, shortening (interesterified soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, hydrogenated cottonseed oil), contains 2% or less of salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, yeast [yeast, sorbitan monostearate, ascorbic acid]), sugar, dough conditioners (mono- and diglycerides, fumaric acid, sorbic acid, enzymes, wheat starch, calcium carbonate, sodium metabisulfite, cellulose, corn starch, dicalcium phosphate, with tocopherols, ascorbic acid and citric acid [added as antioxidants]), calcium propionate (P), molasses. Contains: Wheat. [certified vegan], black beans: Black beans, water, onion, canola oil, seasoning (water, dextrose, salt, natural flavor, corn starch, corn oil, onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric), modified corn starch, salt, chili powder, garlic, onion. [certified vegan], tomatoes: Fresh tomatoes. [certified vegan] 

Spicy Potato Soft Taco

Ordering this taco “fresco style” will get you a soft tortilla with potato bites, lettuce, and tomatoes. This taco normally comes with a creamy chipotle sauce, but you could ask for guacamole for some healthy fats or one of ter other vegan sauces listed below.

Ingredients: Flour tortilla: Bleached enriched wheat flour, malted barley flour, water, shortening (interesterified soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, hydrogenated cottonseed oil), contains 2% or less of salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, yeast [yeast, sorbitan monostearate, ascorbic acid]), sugar, dough conditioners (mono- and diglycerides, fumaric acid, sorbic acid, enzymes, wheat starch, calcium carbonate, sodium metabisulfite, cellulose, corn starch, dicalcium phosphate, with tocopherols, ascorbic acid and citric acid [added as antioxidants]), calcium propionate (P), molasses. Contains: Wheat. [certified vegan], iceberg lettuce: Fresh iceberg lettuce [certified vegan], potato bites: Potatoes, soybean oil, enriched wheat flour, tapioca starch, salt, rice flour, dextrin, spices, baking powder, onion powder, garlic powder, natural flavor, modified food starch, guar gum, paprika and turmeric (VC), dextrose. Prepared in canola oil. Contains: Wheat [certified vegan]

Black Bean Chalupa Supreme

This signature Taco Bell item can be made vegan again by ordering it “fresco style.” The chalupa flatbread is fried and is higher in calories and fat compared to a taco. Choosing a black bean taco over the fried chalupa is a more heart-healthy choice.

Ingredients: Black beans: Black beans, water, onion, canola oil, seasoning (water, dextrose, salt, natural flavor, corn starch, corn oil, onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric), modified corn starch, salt, chili powder, garlic, onion. [certified vegan], chalupa flatbread: Enriched wheat flour, malted barley flour, water, soybean oil, yeast, sugar, vital wheat gluten, contains 1% or less of, salt, corn syrup solids, oat fiber, dough conditioners (mono and di-glycerides), baking powder, soy protein isolate, enzymes, calcium propionate (P). Prepared in canola oil. Contains: Wheat, Soy [certified vegan], iceberg lettuce: Fresh iceberg lettuce [certified vegan], tomatoes: Fresh tomatoes. [certified vegan]

close up of vegan crunchwrap supreme from Taco Bell

Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme

Crunchwraps were recently trending on TikTok, but they’re always popular at Taco Bell.

Order the black bean crunchwrap “fresco style” to remove the nacho sauce and sour cream, and you’ll have a soft tortilla filled with black beans, tomatoes, lettuce, and a crunchy tostada shell.

Ingredients: Black beans: Black beans, water, onion, canola oil, seasoning (water, dextrose, salt, natural flavor, corn starch, corn oil, onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric), modified corn starch, salt, chili powder, garlic, onion. [certified vegan], flour tortilla: Bleached enriched wheat flour, malted barley flour, water, shortening (interesterified soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, hydrogenated cottonseed oil), contains 2% or less of salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, yeast [yeast, sorbitan monostearate, ascorbic acid]), sugar, dough conditioners (mono- and diglycerides, fumaric acid, sorbic acid, enzymes, wheat starch, calcium carbonate, sodium metabisulfite, cellulose, corn starch, dicalcium phosphate, with tocopherols, ascorbic acid and citric acid [added as antioxidants]), calcium propionate (P), molasses. Contains: Wheat. [certified vegan], iceberg lettuce: fresh iceberg lettuce [certified vegan], tomatoes: Fresh tomatoes. [certified vegan], tostada shells: Ground corn, vegetable oil (soybean, corn, sunflower, and/or cottonseed oil). [certified vegan]

Bean Burrito

The bean burrito is typically filled with refined beans, Cheddar, red sauce, and onions. Ask for it “fresco style” to remove the cheese and add tomatoes. Y

ou could also add seasoned rice and vegetables to make it more filling, as well as some guacamole for dipping.

The “fresco style” burrito has 10 grams of fiber, which is about one-third of the recommended daily intake.

On average, Americans are only eating 10 to 15 grams of fiber daily. Fiber recommendations vary by age and gender but the average recommended daily amount is 25 to 30 grams. This burrito also has 11 grams of protein.

One thing to watch out for is the sodium. There’s close to 1,000 milligrams of sodium in this burrito, which is 43 percent of the recommended daily amount. If you add rice, guacamole, or additional sauce to this burrito, the sodium increases.

Eating foods high in sodium may not be a problem if you don’t do it often or you don’t have any health conditions. However, high sodium intake is a risk factor for high blood pressure and heart disease, so be mindful of how much you have.

Ingredients: Flour tortilla: Bleached enriched wheat flour, malted barley flour, water, shortening (interesterified soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, hydrogenated cottonseed oil), contains 2% or less of salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, yeast [yeast, sorbitan monostearate, ascorbic acid]), sugar, dough conditioners (mono- and diglycerides, fumaric acid, sorbic acid, enzymes, wheat starch, calcium carbonate, sodium metabisulfite, cellulose, corn starch, dicalcium phosphate, with tocopherols, ascorbic acid and citric acid [added as antioxidants]), calcium propionate (P), molasses. Contains: wheat. [certified vegan], onions: Fresh onions. [certified vegan], red sauce: Water, seasoning (maltodextrin, modified corn starch, paprika, salt, tomato powder, spices, natural flavors, paprika (VC), onion powder, xanthan gum, malic acid, vitamin C, citric acid, torula yeast). [certified vegan], refried beans: Pinto beans, soybean oil, seasoning (salt, sugar, spice, beet powder (VC), natural flavors, sunflower oil, maltodextrin, corn flour, trehalose, modified cornstarch). [certified vegan]

close up of vegan bean burrito cut in half on a wooden board

Fiesta Veggie Burrito

The Fiesta Veggie Burrito is an amped-up, more substantial version of the bean burrito. Ordered “fresco style,” this burrito has black beans, rice, tomatoes, guacamole, and fiesta strips.

Ingredients: Black beans: Black beans, water, onion, canola oil, seasoning (water, dextrose, salt, natural flavor, corn starch, corn oil, onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric), modified corn starch, salt, chili powder, garlic, onion. [certified vegan], fiesta tortilla strips: Corn masa flour, vegetable oil (sunflower, safflower, and/or canola), beet juice, annatto extract and black carrot juice (C). [certified vegan], Flour Tortilla: Bleached enriched wheat flour, malted barley flour, water, shortening (interesterified soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, hydrogenated cottonseed oil), contains 2% or less of salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, yeast [yeast, sorbitan monostearate, ascorbic acid]), sugar, dough conditioners (mono- and diglycerides, fumaric acid, sorbic acid, enzymes, wheat starch, calcium carbonate, sodium metabisulfite, cellulose, corn starch, dicalcium phosphate, with tocopherols, ascorbic acid and citric acid [added as antioxidants]), calcium propionate (P), molasses. Contains: Wheat. [certified vegan], guacamole: Avocado pulp (avocado, lime juice, salt), onions, tomatoes, sauce (soybean oil, water, salt, distilled vinegar, cane sugar, garlic powder, disodium inosinate and guanylate, dehydrated onion, spice, citric acid, mustard, modified corn starch, sorbic acid, phosphoric acid, propylene glycol alginate, xanthan gum, natural flavor, calcium disodium EDTA (P). [certified vegan], seasoned rice: Enriched long grain rice, water, canola oil, seasoning (maltodextrin, salt, natural flavors, tomato powder, sugar, garlic powder, spices, onion, tomato, red and green bell peppers, citric acid, paprika, onion powder, paprika (VC), disodium guanylate and inosinate, torula yeast. [certified vegan], tomatoes: Fresh tomatoes. [certified vegan]

Veggie Mexican Pizza (without cheese)

Mexican Pizza is back as a permanent option on the Taco Bell menu. Taco Bell is pretty vegan friendly for a fast-food chain, but one thing it doesn’t have is a vegan cheese option. If you’re ordering this pizza, you will need to request it without cheese.

Ingredients: Mexican pizza sauce: Water, diced tomatoes, diced green chilies, modified food starch, onions, sugar, tomato paste, spices, salt, maltodextrin, paprika (VC), garlic powder, xanthan gum, onion powder, disodium inosinate & guanylate, natural flavors, trehalose, citric acid. [certified vegan], Mexican pizza shell: Enriched bleached wheat flour, water, ground corn (with fumaric acid, calcium propionate and potassium sorbate (P)), vegetable oil (corn, soybean, and/or cottonseed oil), salt. Prepared in canola oil. Contains: Wheat [certified vegan], refried beans: Pinto beans, soybean oil, seasoning (salt, sugar, spice, beet powder (VC), natural flavors, sunflower oil, maltodextrin, corn flour, trehalose, modified cornstarch). [certified vegan], tomatoes: Fresh tomatoes. [certified vegan]

close up of veggie and rice power bowl

Veggie Power Bowl

This is my personal go-to order at Taco Bell. If you’re looking for a vegan and gluten-free option at Taco Bell or just want a dish without a tortilla, the “fresco style” Veggie Power Bowl will be your go-to, too.

Filled with black beans, guacamole, lettuce, rice, and tomatoes, this power bowl provides 10 grams of heart-healthy fiber and 9 grams of protein.

One thing to note, although the nutrition information provided by Taco Bell states this dish does not contain gluten, it does not claim “gluten-free” for any ingredients or menu items.

Therefore, this dish may have come into contact with gluten. If you have Celiac disease or a gluten-sensitivity, you should be cautious when ordering.

Ingredients: Black beans: Black beans, water, onion, canola oil, seasoning (water, dextrose, salt, natural flavor, corn starch, corn oil, onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric), modified corn starch, salt, chili powder, garlic, onion. [certified vegan], guacamole: Avocado pulp (avocado, lime juice, salt), onions, tomatoes, sauce (soybean oil, water, salt, distilled vinegar, cane sugar, garlic powder, disodium inosinate and guanylate, dehydrated onion, spice, citric acid, mustard, modified corn starch, sorbic acid, phosphoric acid, propylene glycol alginate, xanthan gum, natural flavor, calcium disodium EDTA (P). [certified vegan], iceberg lettuce: Fresh iceberg lettuce [certified vegan], seasoned rice: Enriched long grain rice, water, canola oil, seasoning (maltodextrin, salt, natural flavors, tomato powder, sugar, garlic powder, spices, onion, tomato, red and green bell peppers, citric acid, paprika, onion powder, paprika (VC), disodium guanylate and inosinate, torula yeast. [certified vegan], tomatoes: Fresh tomatoes. [certified vegan]

Sides

Looking to round out your meal? Taco Bell has a few vegan side options you can choose.

Black Beans

A side order of black beans is a great way to add a bit of extra protein and fiber to a meal. It has just 50 calories and 3 grams each of protein and fiber.

Ingredients: Black beans, water, onion, canola oil, seasoning (water, dextrose, salt, natural flavor, corn starch, corn oil, onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric), modified corn starch, salt, chili powder, garlic, onion. [certified vegan]

close up of rice and beans in a large bowl

Black Beans and Rice

A side order of black beans and rice has a bit more substance than black beans alone. Add guacamole, vegetables, and your favorite vegan sauce for more flavor and to make it a complete meal.

Ingredients: Black beans: Black beans, water, onion, canola oil, seasoning (water, dextrose, salt, natural flavor, corn starch, corn oil, onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric), modified corn starch, salt, chili powder, garlic, onion. [certified vegan], seasoned rice: Enriched long grain rice, water, canola oil, seasoning (maltodextrin, salt, natural flavors, tomato powder, sugar, garlic powder, spices, onion, tomato, red and green bell peppers, citric acid, paprika, onion powder, paprika (VC), disodium guanylate and inosinate, torula yeast. [certified vegan]

Nacho Chips

Nachos are an essential part of any Mexican-inspired meal. The chips are certified vegan and normally come with nacho cheese sauce. But you can opt for a side of guacamole instead for a great dipping option.

Ingredients: White ground corn, water, 2% or less of: calcium propionate (P), fumaric acid, sorbic acid (P), cellulose gum, sodium propionate (P), salt. Prepared in canola and/or vegetable oil. [certified vegan].

Sauces

Taco Bell has plenty of vegan sauces on its menu. Whether you are looking for traditional guacamole or wanting to add some heat to your meal, here are the vegan sauce options:

top down view of guacamole in a bowl

Guacamole

Avocados are rich in heart-healthy fats and fiber, so go ahead and ask for a guacamole add to your meal.

Ingredients:  Avocado pulp (avocado, lime juice, salt), onions, tomatoes, sauce (soybean oil, water, salt, distilled vinegar, cane sugar, garlic powder, disodium inosinate and guanylate, dehydrated onion, spice, citric acid, mustard, modified corn starch, sorbic acid, phosphoric acid, propylene glycol alginate, xanthan gum, natural flavor, calcium disodium EDTA (P). [certified vegan]

Other sauces

These sauces are also certified vegan and are very low in calories. But be mindful of how much you use because the sodium can add up quickly.

  • Border Sauce – Mild
  • Border Sauce – Hot
  • Border Sauce – Fire
  • Diablo Sauce
  • Red Sauce

Ingredients:

Border Sauce – Mild: Tomato puree (tomato paste, water), vinegar, food starch or xanthan gum, salt, chili spices, sugar, natural flavors, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P), maltodextrin, garlic concentrate (contains soy). Contains: Soy [certified vegan]

Border Sauce – Hot: Tomato puree (water, tomato paste), jalapeno, vinegar, food starch, salt, chili spices, minced onion, sugar, natural flavors, maltodextrin, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P), garlic concentrate (contains soy). Contains: Soy [certified vegan]

Border Sauce – Fire: Tomato puree (tomato paste, water), jalapeno peppers, vinegar, modified food starch, chili powder, minced onion, onion juice, spices, natural flavors (contains wheat and soy), xanthan gum, salt, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P), garlic powder, paprika (VC). Contains: Wheat, Soy [certified vegan]

Diablo: Tomato puree (water, tomato paste), seasoning (modified tapioca starch, salt, spices, sugar, maltodextrin, garlic powder, onion powder, natural flavors, xanthan gum, disodium inosinate and guanylate, paprika extracts), vinegar, sodium acid sulfate, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (P). [certified vegan]

Red sauce: Water, seasoning (maltodextrin, modified corn starch, paprika, salt, tomato powder, spices, natural flavors, paprika (VC), onion powder, xanthan gum, malic acid, vitamin C, citric acid, torula yeast). [certified vegan] 

Desserts

If you’re looking for a sweet ending to your meal, the cinnamon twists are certified vegan. At 170 calories per order and with 10 grams of added sugar (2 1/2 teaspoons), this is a reasonable option for a dessert.

close up of a cinnamon twist

Ingredients: Wheat flour, yellow corn meal, rice flour, salt. Cinnamon sugar: sugar, cinnamon, soybean oil, maltodextrin or dextrin, natural flavors. Prepared in canola oil. Contains: Wheat [certified vegan].

Drinks

Thirsty? Here are the vegan drink options at Taco Bell:

  • Blue Raspberry Freeze
  • Brisk Dragon Paradise Sparkling Iced Tea
  • Brisk Mango Fiesta
  • Cherry Pepsi
  • Coffee
  • Diet Dr. Pepper
  • Diet Mountain Dew
  • Diet Pepsi
  • Dole Strawberry Lemonade Squeeze
  • Dr. Pepper
  • G2 Gatorade Fruit Punch
  • Iced Coffee
  • Lipton Unsweetened Iced Tea
  • Mountain Dew
  • Mountain Dew Baja Blast
  • Mountain Dew Baja Blast Freeze
  • Mountain Dew Baja Blast Zero Sugar
  • Mountain Dew Zero Sugar
  • Mug Root Beer
  • Pepsi
  • Pepsi Zero Sugar
  • Sierra Mist
  • Tropicana Orange Juice
  • Wild Cherry Freeze

Most of these drinks are loaded with sugar and are high in calories without providing any nutrients.

Choose a diet or zero-sugar version of a soda to reduce added sugars, or opt for the unsweetened tea which has zero sugar and is calorie free.

More restaurant guides

Looking for more vegan options at restaurants? Check out:

Bottom line

As far as fast-food goes, Taco Bell has a lot of vegan options. Its “fresco style” ordering feature makes plant-based eating a cinch.

Taco Bell also allows you to easily customize almost anything on their menu when you order through their app or website.

Thanks to the beans, veggies, and guacamole, Taco Bell has a lot of options that are high in fiber and have some protein so that you can get a fairly balanced meal.

However, all their options are fairly high in sodium. Be mindful of other high sodium foods you are eating throughout the day when you stop at a Taco Bell.

Sources

Looking for vegan options at Taco Bell? Try these plant-based choices like the “fresco style” Bean Burrito or the Veggie Power Bowl.
Plant-Based Eating |

Find this post helpful? At no additional cost to you, you can support the maintenance of running this site by using my Amazon affiliate links to shop. Thank you so much.

And don’t forget to sign up for my newsletter to get updates delivered straight to your inbox! Also, download my free 3-day vegan meal plan.

Want to go shopping with a dietitian? Here’s your chance! I just opened up my very own storefront,  full of plant-based meal plans, grocery lists, recipe books, and more!

0 Comments
Join The Conversation

You Might Also Like


Comments Background Texture

Share Your Thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *